All projects distriyed after latest upgrade....

More
24 May 2013 23:43 - 24 May 2013 23:47 #1037 by GammX1
GammX1 created the topic: All projects distriyed after latest upgrade....
Hi again Davide,
All projects distroyed (>50) after upgrading to latest version (see results at attached image example). LINK: l.js2go.net/Zjhl9W
>> What did happens and how to roll back them?
IMPORTANT: To receive your feedback ASAP
Thanks in advance for your attention,
Rgrds,
GammX1
Last Edit: 24 May 2013 23:47 by GammX1. Reason: to attach a *.png file not allowed... added link instead :-(

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
25 May 2013 08:40 #1038 by admin
admin replied the topic: Re: All projects distriyed after latest upgrade....
we didn't touch anything about crypting infos, it's all the same since day 1.

did you change your server?
data is crypted using the JSimpleCrypt function, that uses the Joomla secret key to "salt" strings.
Did you changed anything else, except TrackTime?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 May 2013 04:48 #1047 by GammX1
GammX1 replied the topic: Re: All projects distriyed after latest upgrade....

did you change your server?


>> Same server before PHP 5.3.3 (Plesk repo) but upgraded recently to PHP 5.4.14 (YUM Repo) and this data:
Database Version 5.1.69
Database Collation utf8_general_ci
PHP Version 5.4.14
Web Server Apache
WebServer to PHP Interface cgi-fcgi

data is crypted using the JSimpleCrypt function, that uses the Joomla secret key to "salt" strings. Did you changed anything else, except TrackTime?


>> The site remains is always punctually updated / upgraded as far a Joomla! version and all built-in add-ons concern (components, plugins, modules...) as soon as they become available but not additional add-ons added from long time ago.

>> Not sure, but perhaps when restored a backups copy the 'joomla secret key' changed? Could be that the reason why all the info. is now illegible?

- Please, let me know your thoughts about (I have a lot old backups that could be restored locally and perhaps the info. can be get back again...!? ) ¿What can I do / What do you recommend?

- BTW, is there an option to avoid data encryption inside Tracktime to avoid the reported problem may happens again in the future (if moving / restoring the site or changing the server)?

Thanks in advance for your quick answer,
Rgrds,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 May 2013 10:45 #1048 by admin
admin replied the topic: Re: All projects distriyed after latest upgrade....
Actually this is the first time that happens to me O_o
First of all DO NOT SAVE ANYTHING!
If you do that you'll lose all the info. Now they are there but you can't read them.

Get an old backup and take a look at the secret key (you can find it in the configuration.php file), is that changed?
Do you remember the last thing you did, before having this issue? Did you update Joomla or did you update PHP?
Can you revert to PHP 5.3?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 May 2013 11:25 - 26 May 2013 11:27 #1051 by GammX1
GammX1 replied the topic: Re: All projects distriyed after latest upgrade....
If, as you say, the info is there then, I have a daily backup back to >6 months ago (as per your words, seems not all have been lost, yet and that's a good new :-) )

Get an old backup and take a look at the secret key (you can find it in the configuration.php file), is that changed?

>> Yes, different (already checked up to 4 backups randomly taked from last 3 months). But wrong results.
>> I can go to older ones but then, not all info will be up to date :-(

Do you remember the last thing you did, before having this issue? Did you update Joomla or did you update PHP?

>> Both very close, but from PHP 5.3.3 to 5.4.14 2 days earlier than the Joomla! 2.5.9 to Joomla! 2.5.11

Can you revert to PHP 5.3?

>> NOT at the production server, but yes if restoring the right backup version to a Joomlas2Go! MULTISITE Pack (local server that runs PHP 5.3.2 by default). The problem is to know which backup will work.

CONCLUSION: If you don't see the way to solve that, I'll be still open to follow using Tracktime only if data encription will be DISABLED, knowing that perhaps, I'll have no other way than to FULLFIL each project one by one manually (from paper records)... But if you can't allow the final user to 'DISABLE' data encription I will not be OPEN to edit all the info manually again if still there is a risk to lose it again and again if site should be moved or upgraded in the future.

Please, let me know you thoughts about (please, note I will have to support many hours restoring all the lost data manually and, If you say me that's not posible then I will abandone 'Tracktime' to manage all my 'customers' data and will look for alternative solutions. Don't worry I'll not claim nothing to you! Just say me the truth!)

Waiting your feedback,
Rgrds,
Last Edit: 26 May 2013 11:27 by GammX1.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
26 May 2013 11:49 #1052 by admin
admin replied the topic: Re: All projects distriyed after latest upgrade....
I knew that the secret key could change if you move the site, but it never happened to change when you UPGRADE it...
this is a very annoying behaviour of Joomla... -.-
I will add this option FOR SURE in future releases, moreover I'll save the config key, since it seems that the Joomla standard one is not reliable.
However, I can't do this before 10 days, since I'm out all the next week to attend Joomla And Beyond conference :(

Just to know, when you performed these changes, did you restore a backup on your site, or simply upgraded it?
I'm asking it since the only point where I can find the secret key changing is while installing...

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Time to create page: 2.633 seconds